Anthem 5K is Saturday!

Anthem 5K is Saturday!

The race will start promptly at 8:00 AM Saturday, March 10. Wheelchair participants will begin one minute prior. The start line will be at the intersection of Brook Street and East Market Street. The flat and fast course will run south on Brook Street, then wind through downtown and finish on Main Street, just west of Louisville Slugger Field.

Registration fee if registered online from March 4 – March 9, 2018 is $45.

Weather looks fantastic!

Leg One of The Louisville Triple Crown of Running

The Louisville Triple Crown of RunningSM presented by Planet Fitness is a series of well-established road races of varying distances. Runners may participate in any or all three “legs” but must enter and finish all three in the series to be eligible*. Participants of the series will receive a T-shirt (in addition to individual race shirts) and the official winner of the series will also receive a special award. There is no additional entry fee required to participate.

​In an effort to help more runners and walkers in the Kentuckiana area embrace a healthy lifestyle and achieve the goal of completing the three-race series, Louisville Triple Crown of Running race officials have announced the dates for the 2018 race series: Saturday, March 10th will be the Anthem 5K Fitness Classic, followed by the Rodes City Run 10K on Saturday, March 24th and the Papa John’s 10 Miler on Saturday, April 7th!

Facts about The Louisville Triple Crown of Running

June 3, 2017, The Louisville Triple Crown of Running donated nearly $78,000 to the WHAS Crusade for Children on behalf of the running community. This achievement placed the Triple Crown series’ donation in 2nd under “Organizations” and 4th in overall (including the fire departments) donors. The 3-race series has contributed over $1.8 million to the Crusade for Children since 2002.

In 2009, the series replaced the ChampionChip race timing system with the new state-of-the-art ChronoTrack Timing System with the disposable D-tag. In 2010, all three Triple Crown events went with today’s ‘B-tag’ disposable bib chip. CLICK HERE for additional information on this state-of-the-art timing system.

In 2007, The Louisville Triple Crown of Running offered the first Team Challenges for all events.

On June 24, 2003, Triple Crown Race Organizers announced the “NEW” Louisville Triple Crown of Running for 2004, omitting the Kentucky Derby Festival miniMarathon and featuring the Anthem 5k Fitness Classic.

Each year, nearly 20,000 runners participate in at least one of the three events.

Over 4,000 hardy runners complete the annual series and earn the Triple Crown T-shirt and bragging rights each year.

There is no additional entry fee required to participate.

The first Triple Crown of Running took place in 1984 and featured the Rodes City Run 10K, the Run for the Arts 15K (sponsored by the former Liberty National Bank) and the KDF miniMarathon.

The only runners to win all three consecutive races and capture the Triple Crown of Running were Luisa Hamm in 1984 (Triple Crown debut), John Wellerding in 1986, Stan Clark in 1991, Camille Estes in 1993, Mary Anne Lyons-Tonini in 1996, 1997 & 1998, and Jim Estes in 1999. The 2001 Triple Crown Winners were (Women’s Division) Christina Wells, (Wheelchair Division) Chad Johnson; 2002 Winners were James Mutuse, Christina Wells and Chad Johnson; and 2004 and 2007 featured Susie Bush and Jamie King-Oshea, respectively, as winners of the Triple Crown series. In 2008, Erin Nehus, and in 2009 Camille Herron, respectively won the Triple Crown in the female division. In 2012, Pius Nyantika won the Triple Crown series in the men’s division while shattering the course record in the RCR 10K. Ernest Kibet swept the 3-race series in 2017.

Runners consistently use the series races as a training schedule to condition themselves for the local mini/Marathon and/or regional or national marathon events.

In 1997, the Louisville Triple Crown of Running gained national attention when the series was highlighted in two issues (January & February) of Runner’s World Magazine.

No Comments

Post a Comment